Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Image

Today we walk a mile in these sexy platforms sacrificing our feet for the sake of beauty.

Sometimes we need reminders as to why we sacrifice for a better cause. Gandhi went on a hunger strike to protest the British rule of India, sacrificing his desire and need for food to prove a point. Police officers, military & fire fighters sacrifice their lives every day to help save & protect us from evil forces. Doctors sacrifice their time by spending ungodly hours in the ER saving lives, instead of enjoying dinnertime with their family. I can’t say that I have done any of these amazing things that I just listed, but I have sacrificed a great deal to achieve the goals that I have accomplished this far.

I don’t think anyone can truly understand what it is like to battle weight all of your life, unless you have walked in our shoes. To watch all of your friends down a Big Mac, extra large french fries and a huge soda and still be hungry. What makes this even worse is they weigh all of 120 pounds! What I wouldn’t give to be able to do that! However, I was not blessed with that kind of body, so here I am. Writing this blog to you about my journey through self-improving and hoping to inspire others to do the same.

I looked up the word sacrifice to see how it applied to my life. It says that you surrender something prized or desirable for the sake of something considered of having a higher or more pressing claim. Hmm, candy bars or protein bars? A Venti Starbucks Frappy or a Slimfast shake? A bowl of ice cream or a bowl of fresh fruit? A huge plate of lasagna or a small serving of chicken with veggies? This is how my mind works every second of every day. I play the good vs. evil card every time I make a choice as to what I am going to eat.

I posted a blog last week expressing my difficulties and that I was feeling unmotivated. I needed a reminder to solidify these constant food sacrifices that I make daily. I was fortunate enough to receive two reminders this week! The first one was looking through my digital camera and seeing pictures of myself about three years ago. I was HUGE! My face was so big that when I smiled, you could barely see my eyes. I just couldn’t believe what I saw when I thumbed through those pics. I kept asking myself ~ “Is that really me?” I was in sheer denial for a few seconds because I don’t look like that girl staring back at me. I didn’t recognize who she was. As the pounds shed, for some reason, you start to lose sight of who you use to be, or how you use to feel. I can’t remember what it was like to weigh 63.8 pounds more. I can’t remember what it was like to have the size of a child glued onto my thighs, hips, stomach, arms, face. As the pounds diminish, you gain confidence and your mind doesn’t let you travel back to those dreaded days. You just keep moving forward and visualizing what you will look like that one day you finally hit your goal weight. When I speed walk a mile on the treadmill every day, I close my eyes and I can see the girl that I am so excited to become. That is the vision that keeps me going on this journey.

The second reminder that I received this week was last night at my WW meeting. Our leader had us hold the five pound plastic model replicating a blob of weight. It looks disgusting, but when I held that in my hands and actually got to feel how much five pounds really is, I said to myself ~ “Holy cow I lost twelve of these!” Feeling that fake fat in my hands made me realize that the food sacrifices that I make every day are so WORTH it! Getting up early to do the treadmill and working myself up to a sweat pushes me to want it that much more. Visualizing myself after I lose another 60 pounds is way better than a precious cupcake.

I lost 2 pounds this week making my grand total 63.8 pounds! I am really pushing to hit my 75 pound mark. It hasn’t quite happened as quickly as I would have liked, but hey it’s not a race! My body will hit that goal when it is ready and I am not going to push it. I already feel fabulous as it is, so anything beyond this point is a bonus for me. If you want to walk in a pair of sexy shoes, you contact me and I will show you how to change your life!

My quote is short and simple. “My life is my message.” ~ Gandhi

That quote sums up exactly how I feel about my own life. I want my friends, family, co-workers, acquaintances future husband and children to see all that I sacrificed to inspire others, to become a better person and to put myself first when it comes to a healthy life-style.

Time to slip these Vera Wang plats off ~ If you love them so much that you must order them. They are at Kohl’s for $28.97!